Skip to content

Symeon the New Theologian: “it is the worldly-wise that are fools”

3 August 2018

Symeon the New Theologian.jpg

 
“Those taught by God will be regarded as fools by the disciples of such as are wise in the wisdom of this world. But in fact it is the worldly-wise that are fools, spouting an inane secular wisdom, the stupidity of which God has demonstrated and which Scripture condemns as material, unspiritual, devilish, filled with strife and malice (cf. Jms. 3:15). Since these people are blind to the divine light, they cannot see the marvels it contains; they regard as deluded those who dwell in that light and see and teach others about what is within it. On the contrary, it is they themselves that are deluded, not having tasted the ineffable blessings of God.”

Saint Symeon the New Theologian

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 4 August 2018 3:03 pm

    A few days ago I was hitchhiking in Montana and this guy picked me up in Butte. He gave me a ride to Missoula. He was an archaeologist; he was also an atheist. I told him that I was a Christian. I then told him that God was much more real than the fingers on my hand. He started yelling at me and said that I was “delusional”. I then told him that God was more real than the pickup we were driving. He yelled at me, “No, you are delusional!”

    I then told him about Noah’s Ark and he yelled at me again and called me delusional. He began to criticize Ken Ham and I told him that Ken Ham is brilliant (Ken Ham is a creation scientist from Australia). I then told him that evolution was a fairy tale and, of course, he called me delusional again. What a fool.

    Why do Evolutionists Believe in the Religion of Evolution?https://hitchhikeamerica.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/why-do-evolutionists-believe-in-the-religion-of-evolution/

  2. 4 August 2018 3:11 pm

    I reblogged this on my High Plains Drifter blog.

Leave a comment