Skip to content

Pope Benedict XVI: Europe becoming “a desert of Godlessness”

12 November 2015

pope-460_1382607c

“Everything in public life risks being desacralised: persons, places, pledges, prayers, practices, words, sacred writings, religious formulae, symbols, ceremonies.

“Our life together is being increasingly secularised. Religious life grows diffident. Thus we see the most momentous matters placed among trifles, and trivialities glorified.

“Values and norms that held societies together and drew people to higher ideals are laughed at and thrown overboard. Jesus continues to be ridiculed!”

– Pope Benedict XVI

 

More here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 15 November 2015 2:57 pm

    Reblogged this on Correct Me if I'm Wrong and commented:
    I don’t know if this is a continuation of the portion of Pope Benedict’s homily (I assume it is a homily) that I reblogged on the 11th, but it is certainly in the same spirit.
    I am new to this, and did not know what “reblogging” was. When I saw it posted in my own blog I was surprised…but very pleased. It is opportune here for me to add that I am not a Catholic. On the other hand I find that the fears and sentiments of the conservative Catholic Church today are most akin to my own. Though not an adherent, I am a faithful supporter.

    Mike Gold, Correct Me If I’m Wrong

Leave a Reply

