Skip to content

Metropolitan Jonah’s ouster was apparently over an alleged rape cover-up.

25 July 2012

I have on two occasions had the opportunity to speak with Metropolitan Jonah, and on both occasions the impression I was left with was of a very humble man who was seeking holiness of life and sincerely trying to fulfill the ministry that he had been given to the best of his ability.  Despite my bad experience with the OCA I had thought that his election as Metropolitan was some reason for hope. The discovery of the reasons for +Jonah’s ouster as Metropolitan more than two weeks ago has caused me to wonder whether or not my hope may have been misplaced. Perhaps, in this instance, the Holy Synod made the right decision.

What is most shocking to me is the assertion that the victim and relatives were pressured to not pursue  justice, and told that ,”their salvation depended on their silence.”

If anyone could offer me a reason to not believe this to be true, I would welcome it.

You can read the Huffington Post story here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 July 2012 12:44 pm

    I did find some posts on the Monomakhos blog that seem to refute the accusations that have been made against +JONAH. The whole situation seems to be a little murky in regard to verifiable facts.

    http://www.monomakhos.com/category/a-michalopulos-blog/

    • 25 July 2012 1:40 pm

      Having professionally dealt with many such cases over in the Protestant realm I know that leadership is grossly engaged in covering up or ignoring ‘things’ which are a crisis and will bring about a crisis for them.

      Metropolitan Jonah’s bringing such a man in as priest is the first and perhaps only reason for his dismissal. I can directly speak to this since I played part in sending a personal friend to prison for having sex with his daughters.

      He and I are now approaching his eighth year of being in prison and talking by phone monthly. I reported my friend and still hold him close as a friend in prison. Why didn’t Metropolitan Jonah do something similar with the troubled priest?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

