Skip to content

Handel’s Messiah, For unto us a child is born, Sir Colin Davis, Tenebrae Choir, London Symphony Orchestra.

31 December 2010

  Sir Colin Davis conducts the London Symphony Orchestra, Susan Gritton, Sara Mingardo, Mark Padmore, Alastair Miles and the Tenebrae choir performing “For unto us a child is born,” from Handel’s Messiah

-

 

 

 

-

For unto us a child is born,
To us a son is giv’n;
The government shall rest on him,
Th’ anointed one from heav’n.
His name is Wonderful Counselor,
The Mighty God is he,
The Everlasting Father,
The humble Prince of Peace.

The increase of his government
And peace shall never end;
He’ll reign on David’s ancient throne
As ruler of all men.
Upheld with justice and righteousness,
Forever his kingdom will last;
The zeal of the Lord God Most High
Will bring these things to pass.

Lord Jesus, come now and reign in me,
Be Lord of my life this hour.
Come be my Counselor and my God,
My source of wisdom and power.
Watch o’er me with your Father care,
My heart and my mind, fill with peace.
I worship you, my Lord and King,
My praise will never cease.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

